There are three groups of users who can potentially configure the consolidated data (rollup) that is displayed in the List Consolidator:
- Designated user account that has exclusive permission to create or modify the default rollup.
- End Users. You can allow all users to create or modify their own rollup if they prefer. When a user accesses the page where the rollup is displayed, the Modify View button at the bottom of the Web Part is visible if the user is allowed to create their own view.
- Users with Contribute permission or higher. These users have the ability to create their own view of the rollup but they cannot modify the configuration of the default rollup.
Depending on the web part configuration and whether a default rollup has been configured yet, end users may see different things when they visit a page where a List Consolidator resides. Use the table below to understand the behavior for your use of the web part:
|Designated User Account||No Designated User Account|
|Users can Modify Rollups||
Before a default rollup is created for the web part, all users with Contribute permission or higher will not see a rollup, but will be able to create one. See How to Create a List Rollup for more information.
Users without Contribute permission will see the message below until the default rollup is created.
The rollup created by the designated user becomes the default rollup. All users who have not modified (or cannot modify) the default rollup will continue to see the default rollup every time they access the rollup page.
Users with Contribute permissions or higher will see the Modify Settings button on the display so they can create their own rollup at any time. Once a user modifies the default rollup to create their own, they will see their modified version by default every time they access the page.
Since no designated user is named, no default rollup will ever exist.
End Users with Contribute permission or higher can configure their own rollup. See How to Create a List Rollup for more information. Once they create a rollup, that will be the rollup displayed whenever they access the page.
Users without Contribute permissions will never see a rollup. Instead, they will see the message below.
|Users cannot Modify Rollups||
Before the default rollup is created, all users with Contribute permission or higher will see the message below when they visit the page.
Users without Contribute permission will see the message below until a default rollup is created.
Only the designated user sees the Modify View button at the bottom right corner of the page. The rollup created by the designated user becomes the default rollup. Once it exists, all users see it.
If the web part has been configured to allow users to sort, group or filter, those options will be available to all users.
|If you do not configure a designated user or check the box allowing all users to modify rollups, your web part will not be configured and you will see the message below. Be sure to configure at least one of the options.